Skip to content

September 10, 2013

Lunch, September 10

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

Lunch, September 10

Vegetables with lentils

What does a pastor professing to be a vegan eat for lunch? I say “professing to be a vegan” because I don’t care if you wear leather, idle your car for hours in the parking lot, or even if you eat pizza smothered in pepperoni. I eat a low fat, whole foods, plant based diet. Tasty. Very little fat. And vegetables taste wonderful!

The recipe is simple – I looked through the vegetable drawer and picked out a zucchini, the wrapped up half of an onion I put in the drawer on Sunday, a red pepper, a baby bok choy, and two cups of spinach. After dropping everything on the counter, I started a half-cup of lentils (makes about a cup when done) by dropping them in low sodium veggie broth. After the lentils were cooked, about 25 minutes, I started the veggie stir fry in a wok, using four tablespoons of veggie broth instead of anything containing oil. When those were cooked to the consistency I like, I dumped in the lentils, stirred everything, added a little black pepper, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder. A few minutes later, I sat down at the desk here in the home office and typed this post.

If you eat the entire recipe, it will set you back a whopping 257 calories, or so says the MyFitnessPal app on my phone.

EDIT: I forgot to type it in above, I also added a quarter cup of corn (OK, a little less than a quarter cup; just poured in what I had left over from Sunday). The calorie count doesn’t change since that 257 count includes the corn.

Read more from Iovine, Vegan, WFPB

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

