Skip to content

July 9, 2013

Dreaming, Working, Worshiping

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

morning coffee graphicA couple of days ago, I was talking with someone about dreams. After telling me about a rather vivid dream they had dealing with falling bridges and talking monkeys, I said that I haven’t had a memorable dream in a while. I should have kept my mouth shut.

Last night/this morning, some three days after my discussion on falling bridge dreams, I had a memorable one. My dream dealt with me getting shot and having a miraculous recovery, upon which I found myself in the back stairwell of the apartment building I grew up in in Yonkers, but this time, the stairwell was filled with cobwebs and spiders. When I arrived at the bottom of the stairs, the spider webs were so thick and the spiders so large, I didn’t know how I was going to get outside. And I woke up.

Who shot me in my dream, I don’t remember. Why I was shot, also gone with the opening of my eyes. What’s this thing about spiders, I can’t tell you.

But as is usual, I couldn’t fall back to sleep upon waking from this wacky dream. At 2:32am, I sat up in bed and my Tuesday began in earnest. Washed clothes got ironed and folded. The bathroom got a quick sprucing up. I even read the Record and the New York Times on my iPad. This all happened before 4:30am when I finally turned on the local news and poured a cup of coffee. Today’s coffee — Martinson’s.

Office Work, Meeting, More Office Work, Reading

This morning, my slate of office work is going to be broken up by morning breakfast meeting in Hackensack. OK, I don’t know whether to call eating something around 9:30am after waking up at 2:30am “breakfast,” but with normal people, 9:30am could be considered breakfast time. Before heading out, and upon returning, most of the day is going to be focusing on paperwork and various church-specific related projects. After completing today’s round of office work, I have to begin reading a lot of material.

Not that I am thrilled with a heavy dose of reading on a day I woke up at 2:30am, but I have to get some of it done.

Weekend Church in Fellowship Hall?

I was asked yesterday if I thought this coming weekend’s worship services would be held upstairs in the church sanctuary or downstairs in Fellowship Hall. To be honest, I don’t know — it is way too early in the week to think about it. Show up on either Saturday or Sunday to find out.

Bulletin Board in the Upper Hallway

Also receiving some questions is the bulletin board in the Upper Hallway. To make this long story short — it is being worked on; things are changing on the board, so right now, it is a mess. Give us a couple of days.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

