Skip to content

July 8, 2013

July 8, 2013 – Kind Of A Week In Review

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

morning coffee graphicAh, the Monday after a four-plus day holiday weekend … my guess is that a lot of people are going to be very happy today, don’t you think?

Last week was a rather busy one for me. It all started last Monday when I visited with a doctor who is involved with a health study looking at diet and post-cancer patients. After hours of talking about what and how I am supposed to eat, the doctor reviewed my daily food journal and realized that I was already listening to him. For example, I do not eat any animal products and completely shuns using cooking oil of any kind, thus he was happy to see that in the four weeks prior to our visit, my total cholesterol intake for the period was zero. Considering I am eating a low-fat, plant based diet, my fat intake is going to be low. He was happy to see that my fat intake was below the prescribed 15% of daily calories. My blood pressure has been in the normal range and, in fact, the doctor said I was at the lower end of the normal scale. My resting heart rate is in the middle to lower range of normal, something the doctor said was impressive. And my weight – this has been a battle through my cancer treatment and post-cancer life. I was taking chemotherapy during my treatment that included a steroid. Post-cancer, my treatment included taking medication to help my red blood cells, pills that also included a steroid. My 62+ pound weight gain not withstanding, I was told by my oncologist that eventually my body would wake up and I would lose the weight. But don’t expect it to happen overnight, she told me. And she was almost right. From the beginning of June until my July 1st meeting with my doctor, I had lost approximately 13.3 pounds. And as of this morning, my total post-cancer treatment weight loss is at 19.2 pounds. I’m kind of guessing that the steroid effect is beginning to loosen its grip.

After meeting with the doctor on Monday, Tuesday was just an endless day of pastoral care work. Visitations, hospital visits, telephone calls, you name it. My schedule was full from morning till evening.

Wednesday was a slightly different story. I spent most of the day in New York City. Early in the morning, I had to go to pay a hospital bill and visit with my oncologist. After handing in another bloated check, my oncologist sat me down to talk about some post-cancer issues, including finances. No one needs to hear the obvious — getting sick costs money. Lots of it. But my doctor said that some of my outstanding bills could be reduced if I not only continued to take part in the health study I signed up for a year ago, but also if I worked with them on counseling cancer patients. After struggling through treatment holding onto my faith in Christ, if I could be of any assistance to someone battling cancer, I would be ever so grateful to help.

After my meeting with the good doctor, I hopped on the subway downtown to the Chelsea Market for an appointment I scheduled with Google. A long story short – I picked up Google Glass (not ‘glasses’). Click here to learn more about Glass and the innovations behind it. In the coming days, I will be writing more about it and how I am using it as a pastor.

And then, Independence Day Thursday and Friday came around. Thursday I went into the city to see the fireworks from Lower Manhattan. Friday was busy – multiple nursing home services, lots of return phone calls, and way too much sitting-behind-the-desk-doing-paperwork-and-writing. Saturday and Sunday, both included normal pastoral care work, worship services, hospital visits, and me whining that it was too hot and humid.

Now, it’s Monday. The circle of pastoral life continues.

Altar Guild Meeting This Morning

The Altar Guild is holding an orientation meeting this morning for their new members. The meeting begins at 10am. If a new member cannot make it, please let us know and we can schedule a private orientation meeting.

Wednesday Night Worship 7pm

After canceling last Wednesday’s worship service, we’ll be back to normal this coming Wednesday at 7pm. All are welcome.

LCMS Convention Resolutions

Starting this week, I will be reviewing my opinions on the resolutions that are on tap for our LCMS Convention in St. Louis starting on July 20. Keep an eye out for them.

Rev. Dr. Matthew Harrison Re-elected Synod President

If you weren’t in church yesterday, then you missed the news that LCMS President Rev. Dr. Matthew Harrison was recently re-elected for a second three-year term as Synodical leader. He received more than 66% of the vote. You  can read more about the election by downloading the LCMS official election results here. And if you want to read (or re-read) why I voted for President Harrison’s re-election, click here.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

