Skip to content

June 19, 2013

Diphthongs and Time (Wednesday Morning Coffee)

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

morning coffee graphicI just looked at the time on my computer.

11:03AM.

Just a while ago, I was sitting in my church office right after Morning Prayer, looking at my Wednesday morning to-do list and thinking, “Hey, not too long today.” And then…

Everything other than the items on my to-do list took control of my day. Paperwork that needed to be completed still sits here on my desk (I think I will file it just to make me feel less guilty that I didn’t accomplish it this morning). My sermon outline for this weekend – not even touched, though I had hopes I could organize a general theme for my weekend homily. And my weekly announcement article that Christina in the church office looks for from me on Wednesday mornings? Yeah, about the article…

Haven’t you had one of those days where time just gets away from you? For an odd and unexplainable reason, this is my Wednesday. I know I have an appointment at 12:15pm in Teaneck. I have a series of afternoon phone calls that I need to make and return (all of them on my afternoon to-do list and they need to be accomplished this PM). And I have to prepare for our Wednesday night worship service and Bible study. Yes, I need to come up with a homily, but I am less worried about writing up a Wednesday night homily than if it was Saturday afternoon and I needed to get a lengthy sermon written by 5pm.

But that is my Wednesday … and my morning.

Oh, I am drinking a mug of Martinson’s

Reminder About Sunday’s Picnic

Just a brief reminder that on Sunday, our annual outdoor worship service followed by our summertime kick off picnic will take place. Worship, of course, begins at 9:30am; the picnic begins thereafter. If you would like to bring something communal, meaning a salad, dessert, or snack, please feel free to do so.

Worship and Bible Study Tonight

Yes, Virginia, there will be worship and bible study beginning tonight at 7:00pm here at church. I look forward to seeing you later.

Diphthongs

At Morning Prayer this morning, we talked about diphthongs.

Yes, diphthongs. It’s a grammar thing.

If you do not know what a diphthong is, please click here for more.

Read more from Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

