Skip to content

June 7, 2013

Rainy Newspapering and Morning Prayer (Friday Morning Coffee)

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

morning coffee graphicNo matter the incredible advances in news delivery, whether via iPads, Android tablets, Microsoft Surface(s), or smartphones, holding an actual printed newspaper in my hands continues to be my favorite vehicle to get the news. You know that I am a very big proponent of delivering news and information via the Internet. Yet, holding the New York Post in my hands, flipping through its pages, using a real pencil to complete word puzzles, and cutting interesting articles out is still one of my favorite daily activities.

Earlier this week, I waxed on about my love for the New York Times crossword puzzle. I tried doing the puzzle online, but I never found much enjoyment. However, either printing it out via the Times Reader app or buying the paper and folding it open, I find it relaxing and invigorating.

Yes, this comes from a man who encourages use of tablets to download our worship services every weekend. My mantra of supporting eBook purchases for instant mental stimulation and gratification has never lessened. But when it comes to the early morning ritual, nothing seems to be holding the newspaper in my hand and flipping pages. Granted, I’ve tried the New York Post’s iPad app and like it a lot. I have a growing affection for the New York Times and Wall Street Journal apps. To me, they still cannot equal the satisfaction of holding the printed news word in my hand.

Even on days like today, when the rain is falling and opening a tablet would be so much easier to read the morning newspaper, I sit here in the living room awaiting the sound of the newspaper being dropped on the driveway.

Morning Prayer at 7:15am

This weekend, we are pulling our weekly devotion from our bulletin to revamp it. It is not that we don’t want to publish one, but we need to change it up a bit. Since we did not complete the changes, and I do not want to publish a half-hearted devotion, we aren’t publish a devotion this week..

Instead, next week, I encourage you to follow our online Morning Prayer readings at the church website.

And if you are in the area of the church at 7:15am, you are more than welcome to join us for Morning Prayer this morning.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

