Skip to content

June 1, 2013

For a Bagel…

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

This afternoon, I received a phone call from an acquaintance I haven’t spoken to or seen in quite awhile. Our conversation went something like this:

Him: “Hey, long time, no talk. How’s it going?”

Me: “Can’t complain. How’s Florida?”

Him: “Oh, I hate the heat, but you can’t beat living near the beach. I’m up in New York. Flew in yesterday afternoon. I had tickets to the Rascal Flatts concert last night at Jones Beach. Thought it would be nice to come up and see the old stomping grounds.”

Me: “How long are you in town for? We can meet for lunch or something.”

Him: “Can’t. I’m heading back home now. My flight leaves at 3.”

Me: “You mean you flew all the way to New York to see a country music concert?”

Him: “And get a bagel. Those bagels in Florida stink.”

Me: “Makes sense to me.”

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

