Skip to content

April 24, 2013

Morning Coffee: Foggy, with Paperwork

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

morning coffee graphicFor some reason, during our Vision Team meeting late yesterday afternoon, I started feeling mentally exhausted. Swimming in the deep end of the foggy pool, I couldn’t concentrate on anything. Granted, I was relatively busy for the previous eight hours, and if you count the work completed earlier in the day, I was already on the go for 14 hours yesterday before our 5:45pm meeting started. No amount of caffeinated beverages would have dragged me out of the funk I was in last evening.

Fighting through the fog to get to some level of mental clarity has never been my strong suit. My brain tries to push through the fog, but rarely does it happen. So, through last night’s meeting, I just was blah.

And following our meeting, I drove over to New York for a wake. Driving on Route 4 at a little after 7pm on weeknights can be kind of a crapshoot. One day, traffic flies. The next day, bumper to bumper from Teaneck to the George Washington Bridge. As I was heading towards Route 4 down River Road, I was hoping that traffic was moving a little bit quicker than molasses in the winter. Thankfully, it was. In fact, my trip from New Milford – from Route 4 east to the GWB to the Major Deegan to Yonkers Avenue, Yonkers – took an astounding 25 minutes. Traffic was lighter than normal and that made me smile.

Following the wake, at around 9:15pm, I headed back to New Jersey with traffic also at a minimum … until I arrived from the GWB onto Route 4. Ugh. What is with this westbound roadway? Traffic slows up to a crawl, at times. Absolutely unnecessary and for some, it could raise blood pressure. It took me 45 minutes to return to New Milford from New York, and to be honest, I wasn’t too happy that it took so long.

I woke up this morning with a bit of a foggy head, but I believe this was caused by my allergies. After popping an Alavert, within 20 minutes, the fogginess was gone. Or it could have been wiped out of my head by coffee. Either way, I’ve been in a relative state of “get things done” all morning.

My revamped schedule includes spending a lot of time in the church office today and paying a visit to Bergen Regional Medical Center. I need to jump over the paperwork and writing hurdles this morning. And as a reminder, tonight, our worship service kicks off at 7pm.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

