Skip to content

April 5, 2013

Morning Coffee: New Orleans Coffee

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

morning coffee graphicEarlier this week, someone I know felt it would be a nice act of Christian charity to bring me a bag of coffee. As they told me, my favorite coffees – Martinson’s and/or Chock Full O’Nuts coffee brands – are not “sheik” enough for a clergyman professing a love of java. Pulling the coffee from a plastic bag, I was a little surprised at the name: “New Orleans French Connection Roast.”

French connection?

Is New Orleans known for their coffee?

And why isn’t the coffee bag itself compostable?

Green logo used from 1987-2010, still being us...

I smiled as I opened the bag and almost gagged at the strength of coffee aroma. But I was kind. Continuing to smile as I offered heartfelt thanks for the wonderful gift, I feared that making this stuff would clog my coffee pot. Purchased from a coffee house in Midtown, they claimed that this is place offers a better atmosphere and “sharper poets” than Starbucks. As they ran from the house, claiming a need to return to the city (that is “New York City” and more specifically, the island of Manhattan) for dinner with a friend, I first wondered if the traffic at the GWB and the Lincoln Tunnel would prevent him from getting to dinner on time. But more to the point: I wondered if the caffeine content would be good for a post-dinner drink?

After dinner and as the Rangers-Penguins tussle was getting ready to air on the NBC Sports Channel/Network, I walked into the kitchen and made a pot of this concoction. According to the coffee bag, New Orleans French Connection Roast is full-bodied, with hints of chocolate and passion fruit, “making it a great way to jump start any morning.”

And so I was making it after dinner…

Honestly, I am not a fan of coffees professing that they taste like things I do not like in my coffee. Chocolate. Passion fruit. I’m drinking coffee not a Sonoma County vintage wine. But as I wondered about having a passion fruit aftertaste coffee, the pot was done. Pouring it into my Mickey Mouse mug, the aroma wasn’t as strong as I anticipated. Could it be that I put too little coffee in the the pot? Yet, I nearly fell over when I supped.

That. Was. One. Strong. Cup. Of. Coffee.

My eyes started to tear. I coughed for a minute. I think my heart started to race.

What’s in this stuff?

Sitting down in the living room, coffee mug in hand, wiping away a tear or two and sweating from the coughing fit, I figured that the caffeine content of this coffee was bordering on ridiculous, so I figured I’d never get to sleep that night. To my surprise, two hours after consuming the last drop of that stuff, I was sitting in the recliner in the bedroom fighting to keep my eyes open. As the final horn sounded in favor of the victorious Rangers, I figured it was time for sleep. And did I sleep! OK, I woke up at 3:30am…

And what does this missive have to do with church?

Last night, as I was looking in the cabinet in the Upper Classroom, I realized our coffee was getting low. We can get one more week out of the Maxwell House – House Blend can. Then we’re going to need a little help — if someone can donate a can, I would be most appreciative.

Weekend Church Schedule

As a quick reminder, we have our weekend worship services this Saturday at 5pm and Sunday at 10am. Sunday School is held on Saturday at 4:30pm and Sunday at 9:00am. And on Monday evening at 7pm, our Voters’ Body meets for their April gathering.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Morning Coffee: New Orleans Coffee

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

morning coffee graphicEarlier this week, someone I know felt it would be a nice act of Christian charity to bring me a bag of coffee. As they told me, my favorite coffees – Martinson’s and/or Chock Full O’Nuts coffee brands – are not “sheik” enough for a clergyman professing a love of java. Pulling the coffee from a plastic bag, I was a little surprised at the name: “New Orleans French Connection Roast.”

French connection?

Is New Orleans known for their coffee?

And why isn’t the coffee bag itself compostable?

Green logo used from 1987-2010, still being us...

I smiled as I opened the bag and almost gagged at the strength of coffee aroma. But I was kind. Continuing to smile as I offered heartfelt thanks for the wonderful gift, I feared that making this stuff would clog my coffee pot. Purchased from a coffee house in Midtown, they claimed that this is place offers a better atmosphere and “sharper poets” than Starbucks. As they ran from the house, claiming a need to return to the city (that is “New York City” and more specifically, the island of Manhattan) for dinner with a friend, I first wondered if the traffic at the GWB and the Lincoln Tunnel would prevent him from getting to dinner on time. But more to the point: I wondered if the caffeine content would be good for a post-dinner drink?

After dinner and as the Rangers-Penguins tussle was getting ready to air on the NBC Sports Channel/Network, I walked into the kitchen and made a pot of this concoction. According to the coffee bag, New Orleans French Connection Roast is full-bodied, with hints of chocolate and passion fruit, “making it a great way to jump start any morning.”

And so I was making it after dinner…

Honestly, I am not a fan of coffees professing that they taste like things I do not like in my coffee. Chocolate. Passion fruit. I’m drinking coffee not a Sonoma County vintage wine. But as I wondered about having a passion fruit aftertaste coffee, the pot was done. Pouring it into my Mickey Mouse mug, the aroma wasn’t as strong as I anticipated. Could it be that I put too little coffee in the the pot? Yet, I nearly fell over when I supped.

That. Was. One. Strong. Cup. Of. Coffee.

My eyes started to tear. I coughed for a minute. I think my heart started to race.

What’s in this stuff?

Sitting down in the living room, coffee mug in hand, wiping away a tear or two and sweating from the coughing fit, I figured that the caffeine content of this coffee was bordering on ridiculous, so I figured I’d never get to sleep that night. To my surprise, two hours after consuming the last drop of that stuff, I was sitting in the recliner in the bedroom fighting to keep my eyes open. As the final horn sounded in favor of the victorious Rangers, I figured it was time for sleep. And did I sleep! OK, I woke up at 3:30am…

And what does this missive have to do with church?

Last night, as I was looking in the cabinet in the Upper Classroom, I realized our coffee was getting low. We can get one more week out of the Maxwell House – House Blend can. Then we’re going to need a little help — if someone can donate a can, I would be most appreciative.

Weekend Church Schedule

As a quick reminder, we have our weekend worship services this Saturday at 5pm and Sunday at 10am. Sunday School is held on Saturday at 4:30pm and Sunday at 9:00am. And on Monday evening at 7pm, our Voters’ Body meets for their April gathering.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

