Skip to content

June 20, 2012

Close of the Commandments

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

Earlier this week, I decided to pray the Ten Commandments each day since they powerfully direct a Christian’s heart to a fuller and total understanding of the love of our Triune God to us, His people. And nothing drives home this point than the Close of the Commandments:

What does God say about all these commandments? He says, “I, the Lord, your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the fathers to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing love to a thousand generations of those who love me and keep my commandments.”

What does this mean? God threatens to punish all who break these commandments. Therefore, we should fear His wrath and not do anything against them. But He promises grace and every blessing to all who keep these commandments. Therefore, we should also love and trust in Him and gladly do what he commands.

I hope the above is correct. Sometimes my memory can play tricks on me.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

