Skip to content

May 8, 2012

It Wasn't a Vacation

by Rev. A. J. Iovine
Jobing.com Arena

Flying out to Phoenix on Sunday afternoon with an early Tuesday morning turn around does not amount to a vacation. Catching a hockey game in the Jobing.com Arena in Glendale was a nice benefit of the quick trip, though the Nashville Predators losing to the Coyotes and thus ending their Stanley Cup campaign run was not enjoyable. We – or, at least ‘I’ – will be glad that the Predators had a good season and that they beat the Detroit Red Wings in the first round of the playoffs.

I am more happy that the Rangers apparently played a miracle on ice game at the Garden last night. Too bad I missed it.

Suffice to say, even in May, the greater Phoenix area was hot. And though the air lacked humidity, I still found the 90-degree day a little too much.

Flying back on a red eye flight, I originally believed, would provide me with a chance to sleep. Oh, how wrong was my assumption! The entire flight I found myself wide awake, reading a James Paterson novel. The woman sitting across from me was reading one of the books in the Fifty Shades trilogy by E.L. James. Yet, even after reading for a couple of hours, I couldn’t shut my eyes for even a bit of sleep.

Back in town around midmorning, I’ve been trying to wake up all day. So far, no luck. Coffee, tea, lots of water – as I sit in the office, I want to sleep. But I can’t. Tonight, at 7, our Quilting Class kicks off for its fourth week.

Enhanced by Zemanta
It Wasn't a Vacation

by Rev. A. J. Iovine
Jobing.com Arena

Flying out to Phoenix on Sunday afternoon with an early Tuesday morning turn around does not amount to a vacation. Catching a hockey game in the Jobing.com Arena in Glendale was a nice benefit of the quick trip, though the Nashville Predators losing to the Coyotes and thus ending their Stanley Cup campaign run was not enjoyable. We – or, at least ‘I’ – will be glad that the Predators had a good season and that they beat the Detroit Red Wings in the first round of the playoffs.

I am more happy that the Rangers apparently played a miracle on ice game at the Garden last night. Too bad I missed it.

Suffice to say, even in May, the greater Phoenix area was hot. And though the air lacked humidity, I still found the 90-degree day a little too much.

Flying back on a red eye flight, I originally believed, would provide me with a chance to sleep. Oh, how wrong was my assumption! The entire flight I found myself wide awake, reading a James Paterson novel. The woman sitting across from me was reading one of the books in the Fifty Shades trilogy by E.L. James. Yet, even after reading for a couple of hours, I couldn’t shut my eyes for even a bit of sleep.

Back in town around midmorning, I’ve been trying to wake up all day. So far, no luck. Coffee, tea, lots of water – as I sit in the office, I want to sleep. But I can’t. Tonight, at 7, our Quilting Class kicks off for its fourth week.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

