Skip to content

May 3, 2012

Follow on Twitter, Google+

by Rev. A. J. Iovine
Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...

For those of you reading this on our church blog, please be advised that I do not just write here for the fun of it. Throughout the day, I constantly update my Twitter and Google+ streams with little bits of info, news updates, and quick bursts of religious (and sometimes not so religious-based) news.

You can follow me on Twitter @RevIovine.

On Google+, a terrific news and photo sharing site, you can follow me here.

BUT WAIT!

You can also follow Saint Matthew’s on both Twitter and Google+!

On Twitter – @SaintMatthewsNJ.

On Google+, join us here.

Now, you may be asking yourself – “Why?” Why would you want to follow me on Twitter or Google+? You maybe even asking the great question: “What is Google+?” And if you don’t want to follow me there, what are the chances you’ll Saint Matthew’s on both sites, as well?

Twitter allows for quick bursts of news, photos, and story links – all in 140 characters. Google+ allows for greater sharing of news links, ideas, photos, all without a character limit. The reason for these networks is to share and get information out. Over the course of the past couple of weeks, I have tried using both networks more, to some extent. But the interaction these provide give myself and even Saint Matthew’s an easy (and free) way of getting news and information to our church masses and anyone else interested in finding out what is happening on Center Street.

I urge you to consider joining me and Saint Matthew’s on Twitter and Google+.

And I know what some of you are saying: “What about Facebook?”

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

I’ve grown tired of Facebook. Over the past couple of months, I have used it less and less. It has become a playground — people go there to play games and make comments on what they are doing. I find myself struggling to find great use for it any more in my daily personal life. Not that I do not use it, but I find the entire network lacking a great hook for me. Twitter and Google+ allow for sharing of everything without being overwhelmed by game notifications, ads for products I end up “liking,” and annoying pictures of people I do not know. Google+ and Twitter both offer fun environments to socialize and network.

Saint Matthew’s does have a Facebook page that we will use sometimes. But since I am doing most of the networking right now, I am using Twitter and Google+ more. Please feel free to join us.

And me.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

