Skip to content

April 30, 2012

Challenges to Preaching

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I always am overly critical of my own sermons, so much so that most of the time after our Saturday worship service, I will end up going home and rewriting it…like I did this weekend.

Preaching Challenges

Well, it happened again. I was not pleased with my sermon yesterday. I say again because it seems like I have trouble every year with Good Shepherd Sunday. Which seems strange to me. You’d think this would be an easy week, but for some reason, I don’t ever feel comfortable or satisfied with my sermons on this week. There are other weeks in the year when it seems I am consistently happy with my sermons – the First Sunday in Lent and the temptation of Jesus comes to mind. But there are other we…

Read more from Preaching, Uncategorized

Challenges to Preaching

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I always am overly critical of my own sermons, so much so that most of the time after our Saturday worship service, I will end up going home and rewriting it…like I did this weekend.

Preaching Challenges

Well, it happened again. I was not pleased with my sermon yesterday. I say again because it seems like I have trouble every year with Good Shepherd Sunday. Which seems strange to me. You’d think this would be an easy week, but for some reason, I don’t ever feel comfortable or satisfied with my sermons on this week. There are other weeks in the year when it seems I am consistently happy with my sermons – the First Sunday in Lent and the temptation of Jesus comes to mind. But there are other we…

Read more from Preaching, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

