Skip to content

February 18, 2012

What Does a Vegan-like Pastor Eat for Breakfast?

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

A number of congregants here at Saint Matthew’s have asked me numerous times what I eat since I follow a plant-powered, vegan-like lifestyle. Since I have been asked to keep my Google+ and Twitter accounts very active today, I thought that since I posted the following on my Google+ account, why not post it here as well?

First of all, since I am a plant-powered, vegan-like person, I do not consume anything that comes from an animal. Second, I stay away from adding oil to any of my meals. Third, I like eating this way. I have more energy. My head is clearer (on most days). And it has helped me realize that I do not need a pile of vitamins to get me through my day.

On the menu this morning:

– Tofu scramble made in the oven with spinach, onion, an orange pepper, zucchini; a quarter cup of nutritional yeast; 1/4 teaspoon of tumeric; spicy brown mustard, about two teaspoons or so (I didn’t measure it today; just a big blob of mustard); a teaspoon each of onion powder, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning; black pepper to taste (about three turns of the pepper mill for me); and crumbled extra-firm tofu.

– One serving of that Lightlife Gimme Lean vegan sausage, cooked in a pan with a spritz of non-stick spray.

– Unsweetened soy milk.

– My cup of coffee from earlier since I didn’t drink it.

– A banana and a half-cup of blueberries. Later on, as it sits in the background of the picture, for a midmorning snack, an orange.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

