Skip to content

February 6, 2012

One Man's Cancer Journey

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

Upon returning home from Morning Prayer, I turned on CBS This Morning, my new favorite morning news show. Maybe it was the Holy Spirit, but I didn’t flip on the tea kettle before heading over to the television, and I am glad I didn’t.

Charlie Rose and Erica Hill were interviewing David Oliver, a University of Missouri Medical School professor about his videoblog where he is detailing his life as a cancer patient – from diagnosis on. Sitting there on the CBS This Morning set as he explained why he was telling the world about his battle with nasal pharyngeal carcinoma, I couldn’t help but tear up. Cancer is a terrible disease, but the drugs taken to fight it make it hard to fight. As they showed a video clip of him explaining the entire array of cancer drugs he has to take daily, I thought back to the slightly smaller collection I had to take as I battled throat cancer this past year.

Fighting this disease is physically, mentally, and spiritually hard and at times, the sickness and fear overtake you. Yet, we continue to fight.

During my cancer fight, it was my faith in my Lord Jesus Christ that helped me through the bleakest of days. While there were times when the devil cheered my fear of death and my asking God, “Why?,” the Holy Spirit always filled me up placed me back on the path of the meaning of true faith, where death is not something to be feared because of what Jesus did at the cross for me.

David Oliver’s video blog is a blessing to cancer patients.

#church

Embedded Link

David’s Cancer Videoblog
This videoblog has been developed to house links to all my videos related to my journey as a cancer patient- from diagnosis on. Welcome to the site- I hope you enjoy and please feel free to comment. D…

Google+: View post on Google+

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

