Skip to content

December 5, 2011

Monday Morning

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

Yesterday, I had the honor of taking part in the Deacon Commissioning of Richard Peko, a brother in Christ and friend from my old home church in Yonkers, New York. For as long I have known him, Rich’s heart has always been centered on the Gospel as he’s served God’s people at Holy Trinity in Yonkers. After a couple of years of study through the Atlantic District, Rich was commissioned as a Deacon. During his commissioning service, I was thrilled to read the Epistle lesson from 1 Corinthians 12; an speaking act that wasn’t too shabby on my part since the service took place in the late afternoon when during the course of my chemo treatments I have had a little trouble talking and staying awake.

Afterwards, a nice reception was held in fellowship hall at HT where I had the opportunity to talk to a number of people I haven’t seen in years.

And with the incredible weather yesterday, Sunday was fabulous. Here at church, our day started with a terrific worship service (though I wasn’t happy with my sermon) that was followed by our Fellowship Hour where the coffee was a little strong — and I admit, I made it! Traveling over the GWB – both towards and returning from Yonkers – was surprisingly smooth. The temperatures were superb for a December afternoon; and even the sun that poked through the clouds made it seem really autumnal.

However, a weathercaster friend of mine emailed me this morning — keep an eye out on the weather come Wednesday night into Thursday. That four-letter word was mentioned along with the phrase “3-6 inches is a possibility.” If this does come to fruition, keep an eye on the church website in case we have to postpone our Advent Wednesday service.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

