Skip to content

November 29, 2011

20

"Anthony, you've gotta get new pants."

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

That is why I love my oncologist – she doesn’t pull any punches. This afternoon she “held court” for me once again, giving me a verbal update on my recent test results. So far, everything is going according to plan. She was thinking that my chemo dosage could possibly be reduced, but after reading through my latest test results, she decided against it.

Not that my results were bad. She had a number of reasons why she wanted to keep up with the same treatment schedule; basically, since it is working, I might as well complete the plan she laid out in September. All that means is for the next two weeks, I’ll be popping more chemo pills and will be getting sick and tired in the evening. Honestly, the tiredness I have experienced has been creeping earlier in the day. It is terrible to feel like falling asleep at 3pm. Here’s hoping that the middle of January comes quickly and I could start rebounding.

But one of the funny parts of my meeting this afternoon was that she commented on my diet and my clothes. According to my latest tests, all those ‘bad things” one can fear in blood tests are changing for the better because of my vegan eating lifestyle. My blood pressure, cholesterol, and triglycerides are way down. The other blood components are holding their own under the diet improvements and the onslaught of chemotherapy, though my white blood cell count is down because of my treatment.

I’ve lost another 11 pounds since my last check up a couple of weeks ago. During this time, I haven’t thrown up much. I’ve eaten a regular vegan diet everyday. I have now eliminated the entire “steroid weight gain” from my first round of cancer treatment and have surpassed my original pre-cancer weight. My doctor is happy with my weight progress, including the vast improvements in my blood work and blood pressure. She told me that I am scheduled for a wider range (meaning: an all day) physical in January following the end of my chemo.

It was my weight loss that caused her to comment about my clothes. Upon entering her office, she said that I needed to buy new clothes. “You look like MC Hammer with those pants on,” she said commenting on the balloon-like nature of my pants, parroting a line I’ve been using to describe myself the past couple of weeks. As I told her, if my doctors would stop charging me so much money to treat my cancer, I would have the money to buy new clothes.

For the next couple of weeks, I will be struggling come nighttime as the nausea and tiredness will overtake me. Even right now, I am fighting to keep my eyes open as I type this. But I cannot complain because my God in heaven hears my cries and answers them.

#church #cancersucks

Google+: View post on Google+

Enhanced by Zemanta
20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nov 29 2011

    Get well soon.

    Reply
  2. Nov 29 2011

    Get well soon.

    Reply
  3. Nov 29 2011

    Thank you.

    Reply
  4. Nov 29 2011

    Thank you.

    Reply
  5. Nov 29 2011

    Thank you.

    Reply
  6. Nov 29 2011

    Praying for your health and for contined competence of your doctors. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  7. Nov 29 2011

    Praying for your health and for contined competence of your doctors. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  8. Nov 29 2011

    Praying for your health and for contined competence of your doctors. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  9. Nov 29 2011

    Today every thing depends on health i wish u to get well soon.

    Reply
  10. Nov 29 2011

    Today every thing depends on health i wish u to get well soon.

    Reply
  11. Nov 29 2011

    Today every thing depends on health i wish u to get well soon.

    Reply
  12. Nov 29 2011

    May the mercies of our Almighty God bless you and heal you!

    Reply
  13. Nov 29 2011

    May the mercies of our Almighty God bless you and heal you!

    Reply
  14. Nov 29 2011

    May the mercies of our Almighty God bless you and heal you!

    Reply
  15. Nov 29 2011

    Again, to all – thank you for your prayers. God be with you, as well!

    Reply
  16. Nov 29 2011

    Again, to all – thank you for your prayers. God be with you, as well!

    Reply
  17. Nov 29 2011

    Again, to all – thank you for your prayers. God be with you, as well!

    Reply
  18. Ellen Sherman
    Dec 4 2011

    I knew you would be alright in the end. Vegans do have better health generally. And you are so young too, and smart. Thank you by the way for that lovey service for my mom. I don’t pray, I concentrate sort of.. I have been thinking of you though! Glad you are doing so well. I care. –

    Reply
  19. Ellen Sherman
    Dec 4 2011

    I knew you would be alright in the end. Vegans do have better health generally. And you are so young too, and smart. Thank you by the way for that lovey service for my mom. I don’t pray, I concentrate sort of.. I have been thinking of you though! Glad you are doing so well. I care. –

    Reply
  20. Ellen Sherman
    Dec 4 2011

    I knew you would be alright in the end. Vegans do have better health generally. And you are so young too, and smart. Thank you by the way for that lovey service for my mom. I don’t pray, I concentrate sort of.. I have been thinking of you though! Glad you are doing so well. I care. –

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

