Skip to content

November 28, 2011

4

Faith. Hope. Grace

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

Talking with a fellow patient in my oncologist's office earlier this afternoon — instead of crying when she found out that she had cancer, she started singing "Amazing Grace" every morning in her bathroom. She said her husband wanted to strangle her singing so early in the morning, but she kept it going everyday. Now, 18 months later and her cancer seemingly in remission, she said was going to keep on singing the praises of God every day.

Then she quoted Psalm 27 to me. "And now my head shall be lifted up above my enemies all around me; Therefore I will offer sacrifices of joy in His tabernacle; I will sing, yes, I will sing praises to the Lord."

Oh, the wonders of faith.

#church

Google+: View post on Google+

Read more from Google, Iovine
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nov 28 2011

    Cool. So many times those kind of stories get turned into "I got better because I did (a pious action) ". Like thanking God isn't sufficient for him and now he has theological street cred.He sends rain on the just and the unjust. Thankfully he sends rain on the unjust (which turns out to be me šŸ™‚ )

    Reply
  2. Nov 28 2011

    Cool. So many times those kind of stories get turned into "I got better because I did (a pious action) ". Like thanking God isn't sufficient for him and now he has theological street cred.He sends rain on the just and the unjust. Thankfully he sends rain on the unjust (which turns out to be me šŸ™‚ )

    Reply
  3. Nov 28 2011

    Thank you

    Reply
  4. Nov 28 2011

    Thank you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

