Skip to content

October 3, 2011

2

Monday Morning Thoughts

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

There is no Morning Prayer in church this morning.

Ugh. I find myself in a kind of a daze because I do not have to be inside the sanctuary at 7:15am reading the Word and laying the concerns of the church before the Lord. It is not that I ‘have’ to be inside the church sanctuary in order to pray and read the Bible; I think I’ve just gotten used to being inside the church early in the AM. Right now, as I write this post, I am kind of lost without this church-centered devotion time being part of my early morning schedule.

But I move on. A couple of early Monday morning thoughts.

– I had one of those ‘weird dreams’ again last night. A woman I know was in my odd dream talking about her job with someone else (I don’t remember who this person was) while they were sitting at the kitchen table of the apartment I where I grew up in Yonkers, New York. The windows overlooking the alleyway were even dressed with the same style curtains my mother seemingly always used. The next part of the dream had me walking around the “old neighborhood” wishing life was as simple as I perceived it as a child.

Odd. Luckily I woke up and shook off the dreamy cobwebs to focus on my Monday. I also realized that my jaw was a little sore – apparently I was biting down hard during my time in dream land.

– Since today is the day before my surgery, my to do list is relatively long. OK, I admit it – if nothing on my list gets accomplished, the world is not going to end. My offices at home and in the church need to be straightened up. This coming weekend’s worship service needs finalizing. My car needs an oil change. I have to find time to read a larger chunk of this book my doctors handed me last Thursday. I need to change a few pages on the church website. My ‘return phone call’ list needs to pared down, a bit. My laundry needs to be washed, folded, ironed, and put away. I do have to go to CVS to pick up bandages that my doctors want me to have in the house following my surgery tomorrow.

Nothing too earth shattering.

– As I was sitting in bed this morning, a couple of issues popped through my mind while I waited for 5am when the New York Post would be electronically delivered to my iPad:

1.Yesterday, after viewing the video promo for the New Jersey District‘s second contemporary worship conference next month, and thinking the video’s message reminded me about Dr. Seuss’ “Green Eggs and Ham” theme, I challenged myself to seriously ponder the issue of the LCMS ‘worship wars’ occurring within our ranks. Should we be a more traditionally catholic (notice – small ‘c’) or more free-flowing both liturgically and musically? What if a church decides to be more contemporary – does that mean that they are ‘bad Lutherans?’ What is worship supposed to be centered on – God coming to us in Word and Sacrament or how we respond to God? Is there a middle ground to include both types of worship styles?

Something to write about during my recovery period, huh?

2. During the past several weeks, I have outlined the remainder of my notes about our district visitation and the report that sprung from President William Klettke and Rev. Dr. Anthony Steinbronn’s visit last April. More things to write about during convalescence.

3. Still trying to organize my thoughts on a proper use of social media and the church.

– Oh, well. I think it’s time for private devotions — I will be using the PrayNow app offered by Concordia Publishing House. Then again, I always use this app for nighttime devotions.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Monday Morning Thoughts

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

There is no Morning Prayer in church this morning.

Ugh. I find myself in a kind of a daze because I do not have to be inside the sanctuary at 7:15am reading the Word and laying the concerns of the church before the Lord. It is not that I ‘have’ to be inside the church sanctuary in order to pray and read the Bible; I think I’ve just gotten used to being inside the church early in the AM. Right now, as I write this post, I am kind of lost without this church-centered devotion time being part of my early morning schedule.

But I move on. A couple of early Monday morning thoughts.

Read more »

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nate
    Oct 3 2011

    To worship God is to be in his presence. You want rock music, fine. You want a pastor wearing a suit and a tie, fine. You want a movie screen showing the songs, fine. But if the music isn’t directed towards the cross, if the sermon is not centered on the Gospel and forgiveness of sins, if the Lord’s Supper is not part of the worship time, and if the movie screen is the focus of the entire worship service, then God is not at the center of worship. Contemporary worship, with screens and Praise bands and electronic gadgets, can work if at its very core is Jesus Christ and Him crucified for the sins of sinners. Members of the LCMS who disdain contemporary worship because it is too loud or takes too much away from being in God’s presence have more traditional options with finely dressed choirs and pastors wearing chausibles and albs. Nothing is wrong with either form of worship as long as Jesus Christ and the forgiveness of sins is in the service.

    Pastor Anthony, do people call you Pastor Anthony?

    Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Monday Morning Thoughts — The Pastor's Blog @ Saint Matthew's | Harp and Bowl Worship

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

