Skip to content

September 18, 2011

Just Talking…on a Sunday Afternoon

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

“Anthony, now that the Jets won, we can figure out dinner. What do you want to eat?”

“Uh, I was thinking soup.”

“Soup for dinner?”

“Yes. Maybe beans, tofu, spinach, and vegetable broth.”

“What kind of soup is that?”

“It’s good soup. High in protein, low in fat, high in taste.”

“You’re serious?”

“Undoubtedly serious.”

“I was thinking of something a little more foody. Maybe like a steak for me and you can eat that soup concoction.”

“Steak? You know that I don’t eat meat and do not have meat in the house.”

“Yes, but it is an amazing thing! We have supermarkets.”

“Really?”

“Yes! And I bet you everything you have, but Jesus would have loved to eat a steak every now and then, especially after his favorite football team wins a game.”

“I don’t know about that one.”

“Why? You don’t think Jesus would have had a favorite football team if he was here right now?”

“I don’t think he’d be a Jets fan.”

“What? And why not?”

“I think he’d be a baseball fan. Football is too violent.”

“So, in your pastor’s mind, Jesus would be a Yankees fan?”

“Of course.”

“And your brilliant reason for thinking that?”

“Can you honestly see Jesus, the Son of God, wearing a Mets cap and rooting them on? No.”

“Why not?! I’m a Mets fan. Jesus would definitely be on our side.”

“But this is Jesus we’re talking about. Jesus won the victory for us at the cross. Why would he back a perennial loser?”

“Jesus likes the poor, the needy, the helpless. My Mets are all three.”

“But the Yankees are winners. Like him.”

“I can’t believe they let you become a pastor.”

“Sometimes I think the same thing. Want to go get that steak?”

Enhanced by Zemanta
Just Talking…on a Sunday Afternoon

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

“Anthony, now that the Jets won, we can figure out dinner. What do you want to eat?”

“Uh, I was thinking soup.”

“Soup for dinner?”

“Yes. Maybe beans, tofu, spinach, and vegetable broth.”

“What kind of soup is that?”

“It’s good soup. High in protein, low in fat, high in taste.”

“You’re serious?”

“Undoubtedly serious.”

“I was thinking of something a little more foody. Maybe like a steak for me and you can eat that soup concoction.”

“Steak? You know that I don’t eat meat and do not have meat in the house.”

“Yes, but it is an amazing thing! We have supermarkets.”

“Really?”

“Yes! And I bet you everything you have, but Jesus would have loved to eat a steak every now and then, especially after his favorite football team wins a game.”

“I don’t know about that one.”

“Why? You don’t think Jesus would have had a favorite football team if he was here right now?”

“I don’t think he’d be a Jets fan.”

“What? And why not?”

“I think he’d be a baseball fan. Football is too violent.”

“So, in your pastor’s mind, Jesus would be a Yankees fan?”

“Of course.”

“And your brilliant reason for thinking that?”

“Can you honestly see Jesus, the Son of God, wearing a Mets cap and rooting them on? No.”

“Why not?! I’m a Mets fan. Jesus would definitely be on our side.”

“But this is Jesus we’re talking about. Jesus won the victory for us at the cross. Why would he back a perennial loser?”

“Jesus likes the poor, the needy, the helpless. My Mets are all three.”

“But the Yankees are winners. Like him.”

“I can’t believe they let you become a pastor.”

“Sometimes I think the same thing. Want to go get that steak?”

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

