Skip to content

August 1, 2011

Using Google+

by Rev. A. J. Iovine
Google Plus logo

Image by Bruce Clay, Inc via Flickr

A couple of weeks ago, I received an invitation to Google+, a new social network designed by Google. It does a lot of the things that Facebook already does, but doesn’t have many bells and whistles like access to games or business pages (just yet). However, the entire interface is so much cleaner and the site runs snappier than Facebook. While not bowing out of the Facebook universe, I will be using Google+ more over the coming weeks.

Currently, I have posted articles I’ve found on the internet that intrigued me; posted what amounts to my current “status” – usually a quick thought or issue that has arisen in my life that I thought deserved a quick statement; I’ve tested out their photo sharing app (it works fine); and I’ve tested their “Hangout” feature — a place where 10 people can gather together and video chat. Since I use many of Google’s services already, I am quickly migrating to Google+.

One of the ways Google+ is different is that I can contact groups of people in various “Circles” with specific information. For instance, let’s say I cannot make Morning Prayer this coming Wednesday (I cannot – my doctor’s appointment originally scheduled for today is moved to Wednesday morning), I can send a quick message out to everyone in the “Saint Matthew’s” circle I have set up in my Google+ account. For those who do not have a Google+ account, they would receive this message in an email. Very simple. Very easy. Very free.

If you do not have a Google+ account and would like to get one, let me know via email and I will send you an invitation. You will have to sign up for a free Google account – a fairly painless process.

My current “Profile” page is located here.

My latest Google+ post is here.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Using Google+

by Rev. A. J. Iovine
Google Plus logo

Image by Bruce Clay, Inc via Flickr

A couple of weeks ago, I received an invitation to Google+, a new social network designed by Google. It does a lot of the things that Facebook already does, but doesn’t have many bells and whistles like access to games or business pages (just yet). However, the entire interface is so much cleaner and the site runs snappier than Facebook. While not bowing out of the Facebook universe, I will be using Google+ more over the coming weeks.

Currently, I have posted articles I’ve found on the internet that intrigued me; posted what amounts to my current “status” – usually a quick thought or issue that has arisen in my life that I thought deserved a quick statement; I’ve tested out their photo sharing app (it works fine); and I’ve tested their “Hangout” feature — a place where 10 people can gather together and video chat. Since I use many of Google’s services already, I am quickly migrating to Google+.

One of the ways Google+ is different is that I can contact groups of people in various “Circles” with specific information. For instance, let’s say I cannot make Morning Prayer this coming Wednesday (I cannot – my doctor’s appointment originally scheduled for today is moved to Wednesday morning), I can send a quick message out to everyone in the “Saint Matthew’s” circle I have set up in my Google+ account. For those who do not have a Google+ account, they would receive this message in an email. Very simple. Very easy. Very free.

If you do not have a Google+ account and would like to get one, let me know via email and I will send you an invitation. You will have to sign up for a free Google account – a fairly painless process.

My current “Profile” page is located here.

My latest Google+ post is here.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

