Skip to content

May 17, 2011

Tuesday at the Office

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

Now that Seattle weather is back with a vengeance, I've decided to spend Tuesday working in the church office. Not that this is a shock, by any means, but I've recently found myself enamored with plugging away on church work from home. Last week, I started cleaning out and fixing up the basement area and moved my computer and its peripherals to create a sort of "work-study area" apart from the "Pastor's Study" on that first floor of the parsonage. Even though the room is called a "study," I've found myself unable to use it as such since there are way too many books, magazines, and other eye-catching items that take my eyes "off the prize," which is studying the Word of God.

For months, I've used my bedroom for reading and studying, but honestly, with a television and an Apple TV staring and calling out to me, over time it has become harder to concentrate. Hence, my move to the darkened basement room, a perfect entertainment room setting that will serve as a makeshift office/study room.

But this Tuesday, I will be sitting in the church office. I unhooked the Mac Mini computer I connected to the television in the living room (watching internet video is so much easier hooking a Mac Mini up to a TV via HDMI rather than trying to configure a laptop) and moved it into my church office. I bought a computer monitor for the Mini and now I have a "desktop" and the ability to bang work out without being at home or dragging my laptop over from the house.

I have plenty of email to respond to this morning, followed by a long list of telephone calls that need to be returned. At church, many people know that I make nearly all of my telephone calls via Google Voice — so at church, I strap on my headset and talk. About three weeks ago (as I was recovering from my tonsillectomy), I was walking around Staples in Bergenfield and came across an wireless computer headset. With one of those "cash back" coupons I received from Staples, I ended up picking up this wireless wonder and now I can walk around while talking on "the phone." Being wired to a computer was a little confining.

Also, I have to update the Morning Prayer part of the site, add some items to Saint Matthew's website, work on my weekly calendar, clean up my "notesbook," and write memos and notes for some of the committees, or "teams," at church. Lots to get done and there is no time like the present…especially since the chance of me getting sick from my treatment yesterday is fairly great, which will cut down on my ability to get things done today.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

