Skip to content

April 16, 2011

3

Church

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations…”
Matthew 28:19

 

Sometimes, a church can become just a building, a place where people meet once a week on a Sunday morning to worship God, singing the same old hymns, using the same old service, and seeing the same old friends. It can become a building where the first order of business is to keep the lights on, to repair it when it breaks down.

Yet, a church is more than that. For the faith-filled, it is where the love of God is found.

God’s love and salvation through faith alone in Jesus Christ.

God’s mercy though acts of caring.

God’s graciousness through the forgiveness of sins.

A church is a place where the sinner is forgiven, where the struggling are met with kindness, and the unloved find comfort…and it all stems from an overwhelming love and guidance that comes from God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit.

This is who Saint Matthew’s is today and forever.

Saint Matthew’s has been around for more than a century, and by the grace of God, we’ll be around for another century.

Our commitment to our community is simple: This is where our Lord Jesus Christ is, and He is here for you. To care for you. To comfort you. To bring you peace.

In essence, Saint Matthew’s is where God’s love is found.

No mission statement, church constitution, or church committee holds us back from telling the Good News of Jesus Christ. We want to bring Christ to our community and our world through thought provoking evangelism centered on our loving God. Nothing will hold this back.

Please join us. See for yourself.

 

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Toni Marie Geiger
    Apr 19 2011

    Dear Pastor,

    I have always had a special relationship with Saint Matthew’s. You could not have said it better with the following:

    God’s love and salvation through faith alone in Jesus Christ.

    God’s mercy though acts of caring.

    God’s graciousness through the forgiveness of sins.

    A church is a place where the sinner is forgiven, where the struggling are met with kindness, and the unloved find comfort…and it all stems from an overwhelming love and guidance that comes from God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit.

    Fortunately, for me my church is a place of refuge. Whenever I am here (alone)I pray and talk with God about everything in my life. All the questions, fears of traveling the world, or family issues…seeking help to choose the right paths…with that said…I do not experience that feeling of solitude anywhere else.

    I truly feel connected with God. he answers my prayers…NOT LIKE HEY TONI THIS IS GOD..but kinda…the answers will enter into my mind after I am done praying about them. And it typically was just the “right thing to do” but I have the courage to face what I need to do in the presence of God. And I think that is why I love being here as often as I can. He makes me fear nothing but him.

    Yesterday I was able to randomly help and elderly woman who called and just loved to have someone to talk to. It was so soulfully fulfilling!

    Finally, I always walk out of here with the feeling of a clean slate…thanks to…God’s graciousness through the forgiveness of sins.

    Thanks for the neat blog Pastor…I hope you are feeling well today!

    ❤ Toni Marie

    Reply
  2. Toni Marie Geiger
    Apr 19 2011

    Dear Pastor,

    I have always had a special relationship with Saint Matthew’s. You could not have said it better with the following:

    God’s love and salvation through faith alone in Jesus Christ.

    God’s mercy though acts of caring.

    God’s graciousness through the forgiveness of sins.

    A church is a place where the sinner is forgiven, where the struggling are met with kindness, and the unloved find comfort…and it all stems from an overwhelming love and guidance that comes from God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit.

    Fortunately, for me my church is a place of refuge. Whenever I am here (alone)I pray and talk with God about everything in my life. All the questions, fears of traveling the world, or family issues…seeking help to choose the right paths…with that said…I do not experience that feeling of solitude anywhere else.

    I truly feel connected with God. he answers my prayers…NOT LIKE HEY TONI THIS IS GOD..but kinda…the answers will enter into my mind after I am done praying about them. And it typically was just the “right thing to do” but I have the courage to face what I need to do in the presence of God. And I think that is why I love being here as often as I can. He makes me fear nothing but him.

    Yesterday I was able to randomly help and elderly woman who called and just loved to have someone to talk to. It was so soulfully fulfilling!

    Finally, I always walk out of here with the feeling of a clean slate…thanks to…God’s graciousness through the forgiveness of sins.

    Thanks for the neat blog Pastor…I hope you are feeling well today!

    ❤ Toni Marie

    Reply
  3. Toni Marie Geiger
    Apr 19 2011

    Dear Pastor,

    I have always had a special relationship with Saint Matthew’s. You could not have said it better with the following:

    God’s love and salvation through faith alone in Jesus Christ.

    God’s mercy though acts of caring.

    God’s graciousness through the forgiveness of sins.

    A church is a place where the sinner is forgiven, where the struggling are met with kindness, and the unloved find comfort…and it all stems from an overwhelming love and guidance that comes from God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit.

    Fortunately, for me my church is a place of refuge. Whenever I am here (alone)I pray and talk with God about everything in my life. All the questions, fears of traveling the world, or family issues…seeking help to choose the right paths…with that said…I do not experience that feeling of solitude anywhere else.

    I truly feel connected with God. he answers my prayers…NOT LIKE HEY TONI THIS IS GOD..but kinda…the answers will enter into my mind after I am done praying about them. And it typically was just the “right thing to do” but I have the courage to face what I need to do in the presence of God. And I think that is why I love being here as often as I can. He makes me fear nothing but him.

    Yesterday I was able to randomly help and elderly woman who called and just loved to have someone to talk to. It was so soulfully fulfilling!

    Finally, I always walk out of here with the feeling of a clean slate…thanks to…God’s graciousness through the forgiveness of sins.

    Thanks for the neat blog Pastor…I hope you are feeling well today!

    ❤ Toni Marie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

