Skip to content

April 7, 2011

1

Brother in the Hospital…Again

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

Communication in my family is weird at times.

After lunch today (I ate half of an eggplant sandwich to coat my stomach before dropping a couple of mandated cancer-fighting pills down my throat), I called my father to see how he was doing. In a fairly nonchalant way, he said that he just returned from visiting my brother in the hospital.

What????

Oh, yes. My brother has been in the hospital since Monday. As many of you know, he's been battling some kind of intenstinal problem for a couple of years now. Apparently, on Monday he got rather bad pains in his abdominal area and he went to the hospital. My father wasn't too sure as to what caused my brother's hospitalization, but it is all centered in his colon.

And while in the hospital, my brother's doctors told him that he has high blood pressure (not a shock).

And possibly an irregular heartbeat (a surprise).

His doctor wants to keep him in the hospital for a couple of more days as they try to figure out an entire course of treatment for him. After my Ladies Aid Meeting at 1:30pm today, I will head on over to Yonkers, NY to visit him even though my father suggests that I should focus on my cancer fight and now worry about my brother.

Again, that communication thing.

Read more from Fighting Cancer, Personal
1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Marianne Herrmann
    Apr 7 2011

    I think your Dad was probably worried about worrying you and as he said, did not want you to lose focus on your own battles. You must be thankful for a father that tries to protect you. I often pray to God for protection. God bless you and your brother…I am beginning to think that the East can wreak havoc on people’s health!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

