Skip to content

January 18, 2011

I Don't Like Freezing Rain

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I have a pastor friend who has a congregation in Florida and he recently channeled his best internalized New Yorker when he whined that temperatures got down to 40 degrees. When I read it, I shook my head. This morning as I skated over to church for Morning Prayer, I remembered this email, and not in a good way.

However, Florida at 40 degrees and sunny sounds a heck of lot better than New Milford, NJ at 30 with freezing rain…

The following – a part of an email I received this morning from a weathercaster I know:

“This storm is a warm up for the one coming on Friday. At this moment in time, I can’t give specifics, but you could be looking at about 6 inches or so where you are. New England looks to get buried once again. Next week around the 25th presents another shot of snow for you. Do not put away your shovels because after that one, there is a possible Groundhog Day storm that looks impressive on the models right now. Of course, these are long-range models, nothing is guaranteed. But it looks ugly for you over there in the Garden State.”

I think it is time for me to go on vacation … some place warm … some place where the word “snow” is only found in a dictionary.

Read more from Weather

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

