Skip to content

January 4, 2011

2011 Resolutions

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I guess it was because my 2010 New Year’s Resolutions were mentioned in my New Year’s Eve sermon that a couple of people’s interest was piqued – what in the world am I “resolving” to do in 2011? To be honest with you, I am not a big fan of the resolution-thing; anyone who heard my sermon on NYE learned that I wrote them on December 23, 2009 and then subsequently folded them into my journal that day and didn’t even think about them until I decided to use them in my sermon. Overall, in 2010, after truthfully tabulating my “pass-fail” on each of my resolutions, I can say that I kept about 45% of them.

Not too shabby considering most people drop them by mid-morning on January 1st.

I was asked this afternoon if I had any resolutions to keep. Being that I really couldn’t lie to the person, I said, “Yes, I did compose another set of 45% resolutions for this new brisk new year.”

And here they are:

1. Continue to lose weight – eat less garbage and calorie-heavy foods (basically reduce sugar and fat intake). Drink less Coca Cola Zero (I think I already failed this part of #1).

2. Continue to not eat meat.

3. Read more of the early church fathers, especially Saint Thomas Aquinas (no particular reason; I just like his style).

4. Be most considerate of others while in the car (anyone who drives in the car with me knows that I tend to fly off the handle at any given moment, especially if someone is going way below the speed limit; not a good representation of a pastor, I admit).

5. Be more consistent with journal, blog, article, and other forms of writing (not that I’ve kept this one so far this year, but it is only four days in – I think I have time to clear this one up).

6. Take more time in my day to relax (I don’t nap; but everyone is telling me I need to wind it down a bit, at times).

7. Embark on a Saint Matthew’s-wide prayer initiative (I’ve been working on this one for a while) and keep to it.

8. Find time to learn to ride a motorcycle (something I’ve wanted to do for a while).

9. Write, post, and publish my weekly sermon (here on the blog; OK, we’re only one sermon in and as of this afternoon, I haven’t the sermon page yet).

10. Spend less time watching sports on TV and more time reading the Word.

This year, I kept my list at ten – last year, it was 15.

Read more from Iovine

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

