Skip to content

November 8, 2010

4

Cablevision Rates

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

This weekend, I spoke to a couple members who were absolutely livid – LIVID – at our local cable television provider, Cablevision, announcing that they are going to raise television rates about $2.50 a month starting early next year. They were absolutely livid since Cablevision just settled a battle with Fox over the rebroadcasting rights of a few of their networks, including our local New Jersey Channel 9, WWOR, and our local FOX affiliate Channel 5, WNYW.

I tried to calm them down saying that their costs were going up and they needed to be in the black because if they weren’t, shareholders like me would be even more livid that they were not making money.

My advice was simple – take a deep breath.

There are options if people do not want to pay Cablevision for their TV service. Of course, there is the old rabbit ears-thing; you can pick up all the locals and their sub-digital channels. Add on a subscription to Netflix for $9 bucks a month or even Hulu Plus and you’ll get most of the TV you’re used to, minus live local sports. Or, as I suggested, they could hop on the DirecTV train and sign up with them. Their service is terrific; they have more of everything that Cablevision offers at a lower monthly price, including the NFL Network (worth the monthly alone). And, for us local sports fans, they put all their local New York sports channels together so when the Rangers, Devils, Islanders, Knicks, and Nets are playing, you don’t have to struggle to find the rollover MSG and YES channels since they are all next to one another.

However, calling Cablevision owner James Dolan bad names is not very nice, and, in fact, it does violate one of those commandments (re-read No. 8).

As I preached about a couple of weeks ago, holding one’s tongue is harder than just about anything we Christians can do. We could always keep our mouths shut when thinking bad thoughts about people like Jim Dolan. Now try to numb the bad thought process on top of that.

Isn’t it wonderful that we have a Savior in Jesus Christ who saved us from our sin?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Richard
    Nov 9 2010

    I read this post THREE times and had to keep checking to confirm it was a Pastor that was posting on a church blog and not an advertisement for DirecTV. Judging from the tenor of the post I have great doubts that any parishioners actually voiced their displeasure with Cablevision to a religious leader as opposed to a consumer grinding his own ax under the guise of an imaginary conversation (re-re-read No. 8). I hope DirecTV is paying you well.

    Reply
    • Nov 9 2010

      No, DirecTV doesn’t pay me anything. In fact, my powers of consumer persuasion are nil. The people at my church have heard me talk about DirecTV a lot outside of regular church situations and none of them have ever switched from Cablevision, Fios, or Comcast.

      I am a Cablevision internet and phone subscriber and will not be switching.

      And yes, I am a pastor who preaches Law and Gospel and extols the love and blessings of God through Jesus Christ and the forgiveness of sins.

      Reply
  2. Richard
    Nov 9 2010

    I read this post THREE times and had to keep checking to confirm it was a Pastor that was posting on a church blog and not an advertisement for DirecTV. Judging from the tenor of the post I have great doubts that any parishioners actually voiced their displeasure with Cablevision to a religious leader as opposed to a consumer grinding his own ax under the guise of an imaginary conversation (re-re-read No. 8). I hope DirecTV is paying you well.

    Reply
    • Nov 9 2010

      No, DirecTV doesn’t pay me anything. In fact, my powers of consumer persuasion are nil. The people at my church have heard me talk about DirecTV a lot outside of regular church situations and none of them have ever switched from Cablevision, Fios, or Comcast.

      I am a Cablevision internet and phone subscriber and will not be switching.

      And yes, I am a pastor who preaches Law and Gospel and extols the love and blessings of God through Jesus Christ and the forgiveness of sins.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

