Skip to content

September 10, 2010

3

Weird Number

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

This isn’t a major issue, but after a number of telephone calls that I’ve made over the past couple of days that confused a few people, I thought it was time to explain one important aspect of how I communicate with members of Saint Matthew’s.

When I am in the church office here at Saint Matthew’s or at my computer when I am home, and when I have to make a telephone call, I will be making the call through the Google Talk interface. This is important to understand since people receiving calls from me at these times will see a different telephone number pop up on Call IDs.

“Dumont, NJ – 338-0049” will appear on Caller IDs when I am calling from my computer.

That telephone number is my Google Voice number, a number assigned to me when I signed up for Google’s telephone management system. I am not happy that I can’t change the Caller ID to include my name, but I am hopeful that in the future that service will be made available.

And why do I call from my computer instead of my cell, home, or church phones?

Google Talk telephone calls are free.

I like free.

Plus, the quality of the telephone calls via the Google Talk service are outstanding.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Matt Jamison
    Oct 5 2010

    I’m using the Google phone too. For me it solves a problem. We have no land line at home and make all calls on our cells but my home office in the basement has lousy cell reception. Google phone is a great workaround.

    Reply
  2. Matt Jamison
    Oct 5 2010

    I’m using the Google phone too. For me it solves a problem. We have no land line at home and make all calls on our cells but my home office in the basement has lousy cell reception. Google phone is a great workaround.

    Reply
  3. Matt Jamison
    Oct 5 2010

    I’m using the Google phone too. For me it solves a problem. We have no land line at home and make all calls on our cells but my home office in the basement has lousy cell reception. Google phone is a great workaround.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

