Skip to content

August 11, 2010

2

Logos.com Stinks

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I’ve invested thousands of dollars on my pastor’s library, a major chunk of it at Logos.com that offers electronic versions of theological books including Luther’s Works, various CPH tomes, and terrific Greek and Hebrew language resources. For pastors, their library is their professional life.

For me, having a vast amount of my library in electronic form is a blessing. The time-saving researching capabilities alone make having an electronic library a must nowadays.

But …

Ever since Logos upgraded their program engine to “Logos 4,” the ability to use my electronic resources has become impossible. When they introduced their Logos 4 product, they introduced a full-featured Windows version that had all the bells and whistles that they promised. To Mac users, they promised that one day in the future, they would come out with some product that may equal the Windows version. For Mac users, they’ve rolled out useless and buggy Mac test programs that, to be honest, are worthless.

I’ve given up using my electronic library for that reason — Logos’ Mac products stink. I don’t own a Windows’ computer. While the rest of the universe is able to produce compatible Mac programs, Logos can’t. Instead, they take our money and hand us electronic junk as we Mac users hope for one day to have a product that is workable.

I am not the only one who feels this way — their own forum on Logos 4 is filled with complaints. Even my friends who have Macs and have used the Mac test programs Logos sends out are equally angry and dismayed that they have been ignored for so long.

This afternoon, just for fun, I opened up the Logos 4 application on my iMac and was prompted to download an update. Great. Another junky beta product that will constant crash. For fun, I downloaded it. After opening it up, it looked the same as before. But there was one major difference — nearly my entire electronic library was missing.

Everything except the Septuagint (the Old Testament written in Greek).

Luther’s Works. Gone. The various commentaries and language resources I purchased. Gone. Even the latest Concordia: The Lutheran Confessions, gone.

So basically I’ve been duped by this company. They’ve taken my money with a smile and handed me junk and now they’ve have taken my library because their product doesn’t work.

I really am not happy.

Read more from Iovine

Logos.com Stinks

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I’ve invested thousands of dollars on my pastor’s library, a major chunk of it at Logos.com that offers electronic versions of theological books including Luther’s Works, various CPH tomes, and terrific Greek and Hebrew language resources. For pastors, their library is their professional life.

For me, having a vast amount of my library in electronic form is a blessing. The time-saving researching capabilities alone make having an electronic library a must nowadays.

But …

Ever since Logos upgraded their program engine to “Logos 4,” the ability to use my electronic resources has become impossible. When they introduced their Logos 4 product, they introduced a full-featured Windows version that had all the bells and whistles that they promised. To Mac users, they promised that one day in the future, they would come out with some product that may equal the Windows version. For Mac users, they’ve rolled out useless and buggy Mac test programs that, to be honest, are worthless.

I’ve given up using my electronic library for that reason — Logos’ Mac products stink. I don’t own a Windows’ computer. While the rest of the universe is able to produce compatible Mac programs, Logos can’t. Instead, they take our money and hand us electronic junk as we Mac users hope for one day to have a product that is workable.

I am not the only one who feels this way — their own forum on Logos 4 is filled with complaints. Even my friends who have Macs and have used the Mac test programs Logos sends out are equally angry and dismayed that they have been ignored for so long.

This afternoon, just for fun, I opened up the Logos 4 application on my iMac and was prompted to download an update. Great. Another junky beta product that will constant crash. For fun, I downloaded it. After opening it up, it looked the same as before. But there was one major difference — nearly my entire electronic library was missing.

Everything except the Septuagint (the Old Testament written in Greek).

Luther’s Works. Gone. The various commentaries and language resources I purchased. Gone. Even the latest Concordia: The Lutheran Confessions, gone.

So basically I’ve been duped by this company. They’ve taken my money with a smile and handed me junk and now they’ve have taken my library because their product doesn’t work.

I really am not happy.

Read more from Iovine
1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Aug 11 2010

    Okay… I’m going to defend Logos. I’m a mac user and I’ve also used the windows version.

    They have been clear from the beginning that this is a beta product. I started using it at Alpha 1 and I’ve never lost any resources. Yes… I have had some bugs crop up… but I have ceased using the Windows version in virtualization. Their support when I have contacted them has been superb. The iPhone app is a godsend and the folks that have an iPad have loved it.

    No one has taken your money. You chose to use a beta product and have had problems. It is a beta product… what do you expect? Use the windows version until the mac version catches up. Give the company a call? Shoot… e-mail the CEO (Bob Pritchett ). I’ve corresponded with him a number of times.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

