Skip to content

June 22, 2010

2

Done for Tuesday

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

It’s 10 after 10pm and finally, I can close the book on this Tuesday. A funeral, added hospital visits, and a long counseling session, it feels good to yank my foot off the accelerator. I probably shouldn’t have had that last cup of coffee at around 8:30 and I will probably pay for it with a restless sleep, but that last jolt of caffeine really was needed to get over that final hurdle to close out this Tuesday.

My Wednesday and Thursday appear to be more conducive to getting office things done (tomorrow I need to lock myself in, at least in the morning, so I can tackle pre-sermon and service work that I’ve pushed off the past two days). Then there is our Wednesday night service and bible class, both of which need my attention at sometime during tomorrow. And that list of return phone calls – right now it stands at 7. Oh, and I have to find time to cook for the New Milford Senior Center’s “International Pot Luck” on Thursday.

But my reading list needs some attention – the newest “Law and Gospel” revision has been sitting bedside for a couple of days; Vince Flynn’s latest book can’t read itself; and I have newspapers (electronically, that is) piled up on my iPad that I may just have to delete.

That is it for Tuesday.

Read more from Iovine

Done for Tuesday

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

It’s 10 after 10pm and finally, I can close the book on this Tuesday. A funeral, added hospital visits, and a long counseling session, it feels good to yank my foot off the accelerator. I probably shouldn’t have had that last cup of coffee at around 8:30 and I will probably pay for it with a restless sleep, but that last jolt of caffeine really was needed to get over that final hurdle to close out this Tuesday.

My Wednesday and Thursday appear to be more conducive to getting office things done (tomorrow I need to lock myself in, at least in the morning, so I can tackle pre-sermon and service work that I’ve pushed off the past two days). Then there is our Wednesday night service and bible class, both of which need my attention at sometime during tomorrow. And that list of return phone calls – right now it stands at 7. Oh, and I have to find time to cook for the New Milford Senior Center’s “International Pot Luck” on Thursday.

But my reading list needs some attention – the newest “Law and Gospel” revision has been sitting bedside for a couple of days; Vince Flynn’s latest book can’t read itself; and I have newspapers (electronically, that is) piled up on my iPad that I may just have to delete.

That is it for Tuesday.

Read more from Iovine
1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Jim Simmons
    Jun 22 2010

    Good Night Pastor.

    Sleep well, tomorrow is another day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

