Skip to content

May 10, 2010

It is the Theology

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

After our church’s Voters’ Meeting, I came home and popped open my Gmail account. Sitting there was a rather lengthy email asking why we sing the hymns we do in church. I could have gone through a lengthy explanation of the music and writers and the deep understanding of the words combined with the music.

But when I thought about it, I figured I could just tell it like it is since it all comes down to one word:

Theology.

We don’t sing “cotton candy” Christian songs. We sing deeply theological heavenly hymns that are centered on the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. The hymns we sing cling to the cross. We don’t sing popular Christian music because at the heart of these songs is a self-centeredness that cries out “me, me, me.”

Our hymns are theologically centered on Christ.

That is why we sing what we sing in church.

Read more from Hymnody, Saint Matthew's

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

