Skip to content

March 17, 2010

Up at Zion Tonight

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I will be at Zion Lutheran Church in Westwood this evening in our circuit’s “final” pulpit exchange for this Lenten season since next week, all pastors will find themselves at their home churches. Next week, I will be “cooking” for our Lenten Soup Supper.

Even though when I signed up for the Supper I wrote that I would be making some kind of Italian-based soup, I have decided to celebrate the near-end of Spring Training and the almost start of the 2010 Major League Baseball Regular Season.

I will be making a hot dog feast. My menu:

New York Dirty water hot dogs in honor of the World Champion Yankees and the up-and-coming New York Mets (I will be using a couple of gallons of water from my father’s house in New York to cook and soak the dogs; New Jersey water doesn’t do it justice)

Sauerkraut, Onions, (store bought) Relish and Mustard

Chicago-style toppings (basically, this is a salad; we have to show love to our brethren White Sox and Cubs fans)

There will be no chili. No matter the recipe, I always butcher it.

(Reposted from reviovine.com)

Read more from Iovine, Saint Matthew's

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

