Skip to content

January 26, 2010

Ah, the Tuesdays!

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I remember in my pre-pastor life, Tuesdays were practically the longest day in the week. For some odd reason, I always found myself aching for time to go by a little faster on Tuesdays. My Mondays were always good work days since it really was a terrific day to prepare for the week. Interviews, writing assignments, copious research projects, et.al, all could be meticulously planned out on a Monday morning. By around noon on Monday, my week was neatly laid out in Outlook, including what seemed like an endless “to do” list.

Yet, come Tuesday when my calendar was in full-bloom, it always seemed like it took forever to accomplish anything. Back then, I tried waking up earlier to try and tackle projects, but that never worked. No matter the various getting-things-done strategies I used to help me get through my Tuesdays, it always felt like time was ticking slowly away. Ugh.

Fast forward to today and my life as a clergyman and things are different. In theory, my Mondays are days off where I don’t spend any time preparing for the week. No studying. No writing, No church telephone calls. Oh, that is “in theory.” Recently, I have been trying my best to turn off the Monday work clock (to some success, I must say).

Therefore, my prep-day has now become Tuesday. It is no longer a day that drags. Instead, it is a day that flies. For instance, this morning, I accomplished a number of things:

1. I prepared my weekly schedule (meetings, visits, lunch dates, etc.) and to do list.

2. I made a number of telephone calls to set up home visits this week.

3. This coming weekend’s worship services have been finalized.

4. I started outlining my sermon study for the week.

5. I actually started writing this post (a miracle after being away for more than a week)

I couldn’t believe when I stared at my computer’s clock that I had already worked 3 and half hours (started at around 6:30am; I checked the clock at 10:00am). My week is planned, some work is already done, and now I get to go home and get another cup of coffee.

Yes, I am in the church office. This afternoon, I will be working from home (easier to study in the home office where my books, both physical and electronic, are available).

Read more from Iovine, Saint Matthew's

Ah, the Tuesdays!

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I remember in my pre-pastor life, Tuesdays were practically the longest day in the week. For some odd reason, I always found myself aching for time to go by a little faster on Tuesdays. My Mondays were always good work days since it really was a terrific day to prepare for the week. Interviews, writing assignments, copious research projects, et.al, all could be meticulously planned out on a Monday morning. By around noon on Monday, my week was neatly laid out in Outlook, including what seemed like an endless “to do” list.

Yet, come Tuesday when my calendar was in full-bloom, it always seemed like it took forever to accomplish anything. Back then, I tried waking up earlier to try and tackle projects, but that never worked. No matter the various getting-things-done strategies I used to help me get through my Tuesdays, it always felt like time was ticking slowly away. Ugh.

Fast forward to today and my life as a clergyman and things are different. In theory, my Mondays are days off where I don’t spend any time preparing for the week. No studying. No writing, No church telephone calls. Oh, that is “in theory.” Recently, I have been trying my best to turn off the Monday work clock (to some success, I must say).

Therefore, my prep-day has now become Tuesday. It is no longer a day that drags. Instead, it is a day that flies. For instance, this morning, I accomplished a number of things:

1. I prepared my weekly schedule (meetings, visits, lunch dates, etc.) and to do list.

2. I made a number of telephone calls to set up home visits this week.

3. This coming weekend’s worship services have been finalized.

4. I started outlining my sermon study for the week.

5. I actually started writing this post (a miracle after being away for more than a week)

I couldn’t believe when I stared at my computer’s clock that I had already worked 3 and half hours (started at around 6:30am; I checked the clock at 10:00am). My week is planned, some work is already done, and now I get to go home and get another cup of coffee.

Yes, I am in the church office. This afternoon, I will be working from home (easier to study in the home office where my books, both physical and electronic, are available).

Read more from Iovine, Saint Matthew's

Ah, the Tuesdays!

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I remember in my pre-pastor life, Tuesdays were practically the longest day in the week. For some odd reason, I always found myself aching for time to go by a little faster on Tuesdays. My Mondays were always good work days since it really was a terrific day to prepare for the week. Interviews, writing assignments, copious research projects, et.al, all could be meticulously planned out on a Monday morning. By around noon on Monday, my week was neatly laid out in Outlook, including what seemed like an endless “to do” list.

Yet, come Tuesday when my calendar was in full-bloom, it always seemed like it took forever to accomplish anything. Back then, I tried waking up earlier to try and tackle projects, but that never worked. No matter the various getting-things-done strategies I used to help me get through my Tuesdays, it always felt like time was ticking slowly away. Ugh.

Fast forward to today and my life as a clergyman and things are different. In theory, my Mondays are days off where I don’t spend any time preparing for the week. No studying. No writing, No church telephone calls. Oh, that is “in theory.” Recently, I have been trying my best to turn off the Monday work clock (to some success, I must say).

Therefore, my prep-day has now become Tuesday. It is no longer a day that drags. Instead, it is a day that flies. For instance, this morning, I accomplished a number of things:

1. I prepared my weekly schedule (meetings, visits, lunch dates, etc.) and to do list.

2. I made a number of telephone calls to set up home visits this week.

3. This coming weekend’s worship services have been finalized.

4. I started outlining my sermon study for the week.

5. I actually started writing this post (a miracle after being away for more than a week)

I couldn’t believe when I stared at my computer’s clock that I had already worked 3 and half hours (started at around 6:30am; I checked the clock at 10:00am). My week is planned, some work is already done, and now I get to go home and get another cup of coffee.

Yes, I am in the church office. This afternoon, I will be working from home (easier to study in the home office where my books, both physical and electronic, are available).

Read more from Iovine, Saint Matthew's

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

