Skip to content

October 20, 2009

1

Atheism 3.0

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

“I don’t know if anybody is going to be able to convince me that God exists,” (Bruce) Sheiman said in an interview, “but they can convince me that religion has intrinsic value.”

I saw this story yesterday in USA Today, but I was just lazy enough that I didn’t take time to comment on it.

Apparently, the recent attempt by atheists to claim that people who believe in God are just plain nuts hasn’t done much to swell their ranks. No one likes an arrogant, hard-nosed God hater. Instead, they’ve taken a new track, pushed by author Bruce Sheiman, one that puts a happier face on the non-God crowd. They now don’t want to criticize those who believe in God, but they want everyone to just get along.

Isn’t that nice? I guess the New Atheists have found that people don’t respond well when their religious beliefs are attacked as phony. Gone are the days when public religious expressions are mocked by the anti-God people — they now will speak of what unifies people of all faiths (you need a strong faith to believe that everything was creating from sheer dumb luck).

Yes, it is a public relations move.

Should be interesting…

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Oct 26 2009

    Rev. Iovine:

    Thank you for your comment about my book. As you have shown, not all atheists are the angry, mean-spirited kind. Atheism 3.0 is real, and it is certainly not a PR compaign from your local chapter of the American Atheism Association. I am not a member of such an association, and I often prefer to associate with believers who I have found to be much more civil about this whole controversy. I am starting a blog (in about two weeks) of my own in conjunction with a revision of my website (AnAtheistDefendsReligion.com). That blog is titled: Atheism 3.0: A Moderate Unbeliever Criticizes Militant Atheism. Watch out for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

