Skip to content

June 25, 2009

Ordination Anniversary

by Rev. A. J. Iovine

I was at the Garden Cafe here in New Milford this afternoon when it hit me — today, June 25th, is the anniversary of my ordination into the Holy Ministry. Plus, today is a big day for us Lutherans: it is the day we remember the Presentation of the Augsburg Confession (though, if you have a Concordia Theological Seminary 2009 calendar, you’d never know it).

Four years ago this day I entered the ministry of word and sacrament. When I was going through it, I never fully appreciated what was happening that day. It really hit me the first time I stood before Saint Matthew’s congregation and celebrated the Lord’s Supper. Then it whacked me between the eyes that I was serving God and His people.

Sadly, I forgot about it today. Don’t know why or how, but I went through my typical visit-filled morning without a clue that today was my ordination anniversary. Thankfully, it hit me while I was waiting for my lunch.

Now on to year 5!

(re-blogged from reviovine.com)

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

